Tosin Martins – Olo Mi Translation

This evergreen gem gifted to us by Tosin Martins will remain a wedding hit for eras to come. It is audibly evident that Tosin meant every word in this heart-felt song. I’m in real tears whenever it’s played, ANYWHERE.

TosinMartinsolomi

The bold writing indicates the Yoruba lyrics of the song whilst the underlined writing indicates the English translation. Enjoy.

(Chorus)

Olo Mi, OnitemiMy most cherished, my own

Ore mi, OlolufeMy friend, the one I love

Oju kan sa la’ada niA cutlass has just one side

L’ola Oluwa, ko s’ohun ti o ya waBy the grace of God, nothing can separate us

(Verse 1)

Mo r’ohun to dunI’ve seen something sweet

Mo re ni keji miI’ve found my second half

Kiri kiri l’on se miI’m feeling nervous

The butterflies in my belly

Ko ri ko sun ko je ko moWithout seeing you I can’t sleep or eat

E ma ba wi o[Literally, “don’t discuss it”]

Oro ife l’aiye, bi adanwo niThe complexities of love are like tests

Iru omo ti mo fe won be lara reThe kind of children I desire are in you

Baby, gbo oruko miBaby hear my name

O ba elewa munIt sounds beautiful

(Refrain)

Mo fe gba e da’arugbo –I want to grow old with you

Mo fe gba e d’aaleI want to be with you ’till the end

Iwo ni mo fe ma ji riYou’re the one I want to wake up to

Lo juju mo aiye miEvery day of my life

(Chorus)

I’ve found a good thing, favour from above

I’ve got that feeling that’s in the touch of love

After so long

Ebun ife wa mi riThe gift of love has found me

Now that you’re here, I see the difference so clear

You are the spark that brightens up my world

I wanna give this all, I know. To keep you as my own

(Refrain)

Mo fe gba e da’arugboI want to grow old with you

Mo fe gba e d’aaleI want to be with you ’till the end

Iwo ni mo fe ma ji riYou’re the one I want to wake up to

Lo juju mo aiye miEvery day of my life

(Chorus)

Olo Mi, OnitemiMy cherished one, my own

Ore mi, OlolufeMy friend, the one I love

Oju kan sa la’ada niA cutlass has just one side

L’ola Oluwa, ife wa o ni daru – By the grace of God, our love will not fade

(Outro)

Ko s’ohun ti o ya wa (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa)Nothing can separate us

Epuro la’labaku ewa aiye (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa) I’ll die with you, nothing can separate us

Oju mi oju remi baby (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa) – My eyes are your eyes baby, nothing can separate us

I’ve gotta love you girl, I love you girl (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa) –Nothing can ever separate us

From the depths of my soul (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa) – Nothing can ever separate us

From the bottom of my heart (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa)  Nothing can ever separate us

You are jewel of my heart (laiye, ko s’ohun ti o ya wa)  Nothing can ever separate us

Laiye laiye laiye laiye laiye…Never, ever, ever, ever, ever….

Leave a comment